110 North College, Suite 500, Tyler Texas 75702
Phone: 903-597-8311

Matt Rowan Elected SCBA President Elect 2012-2013

Potter Minton is pleased to announce that Matt Rowan, a member with the Firm, has been elected to serve as President-Elect of the Smith County Bar Association. He will serve as President-Elect from July 2012 to June 2013 and will serve as President from July 2013 to June 2014.

Mr. Rowan served the Smith County Bar Association as Treasurer 2010-2011, was on the Board of Directors from 2009-2011, and served as Law Day Co-Chair for the Smith County Bar Foundation in 2011, 2010 and 2009. He has served the Smith County Young Lawyers Association as President, 2007-2008; Vice President, 2006-2007; Director, 2004-2006.

Mr. Rowan focuses his practice on general litigation and commercial matters. He has experience in a wide range of matters from oil and gas litigation to intellectual property litigation, from constitutional rights and municipal liability to employment disputes and medical malpractice. His talents have earned him the recognition of his peers, including being named a Texas Rising Star as published in Texas Super Lawyers, Rising Stars Edition/Texas Monthly Magazine, 2009-2012 and the 2010 Outstanding Young Lawyer Award, presented by Smith County Young Lawyers Association. Mr. Rowan is a member of the Texas and American Bar Associations, Texas Young Lawyers Association, and Texas Association of Defense Counsel.

The Smith County Bar Association was founded in 1933 with approximately 80 members and has grown in the past 79 years to a membership of over 600 attorneys.